User Guide and Tutorials

Search online learning and support

Home » Tutorials » Customize your default map view

CUSTOMIZE YOUR WORKSPACE

There are several options for customizing your DisasterAWARE workspace and experience:

  • Choose custom language preferences and time zones (see section above on adjusting language preferences).

  • Change the default background map, zoom extent, and visible layers.

  • Customize your layers panel.

Customize your default map view

You can customize the default map view so when you login into the system, it appears with the desired background map, zoom extent, and the visible layers. To learn more about customizing maps, see the section above on how to create and share customized maps.

Once you have your map set up the way you want it to appear at each login, click the Bookmark icon on the left toolbar. Next, click the three dots at the bottom of the bookmark panel.

Next, click the three dots at the bottom of the Bookmark panel, and then Add Bookmark to save your current map layers. Be sure to name your bookmark something meaningful so it’s easy to find at a later date.

A screenshot of a computer Description automatically generated

Choose the Extents and Layers option, Create Bookmark button, and give your bookmark a meaningful name like “Default map.” Learn more about creating bookmarks in the section Bookmark and share information above.

A screenshot of a cell phone Description automatically generated

Once your default map bookmark has been created, you are now ready to assign the bookmark to your default map view.

Click the User icon from the left toolbar, and then the Bookmark link. Select the default map bookmark you just created and click Done. Your default bookmark will now be the view you see each time you login to the system.

A screenshot of a cell phone Description automatically generated

Reset default map

To reset the default map to its original view, click the Bookmark link on the left toolbar.
Click the Info icon and then click the three dots at the bottom of the Bookmark panel and then Delete Bookmark.